## Ohio Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs) and Nonmetropolitan Statistical Areas

Developed by the United States Office of Management and Budget, Metropolitan Statistical Areas are integrated geographic regions comprised of at least one city or urban area (with a population of at least 50,000) and adjacent communities. Nonmetropolitan areas are state-defined, and are formed by combining non-MSA counties into mostly-contiguous geographical regions. All Ohio counties are included in either an MSA or a nonmetropolitan area.



Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs)

- A. Akron MSA
- **B.** Canton-Massillon MSA

C. Cincinnati MSA, including Dearborn, Ohio, and Union Counties in Indiana; Boone, Bracken, Campbell, Gallatin, Grant, Kenton, and Pendleton Counties in Kentucky

- D. Cleveland-Elyria MSA
- E. Columbus MSA
- F. Dayton MSA

G. \*Huntington-Ashland MSA, including Boyd and Greenup Counties in Kentucky; Cabell, Lincoln, Putnam, and Wayne Counties in West Virginia

- H. Lima MSA
- I. Mansfield MSA
- J. Springfield MSA
- K. Toledo MSA
- L. Weirton-Steubenville MSA, including Brooke
- and Hancock Counties (WV)
- M.\*Wheeling MSA, including Marshall and Ohio Counties (WV)
- N. Youngstown-Warren-Boardman MSA,

including Mercer County (PA)

- Nonmetropolitan Statistical Areas
- 1. West Northwestern Ohio
- nonmetropolitan area
- 2. North Northeastern Ohio
- nonmetropolitan area
- 3. Eastern Ohio nonmetropolitan area
- 4. Southern Ohio nonmetropolitan area